Indian MP Modi wins 3rd Term

  • Staff Writer

Narendra Modi, leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is set to be sworn in as India’s prime minister for a third term on Sunday, marking a record-equalling achievement. The ceremony is scheduled for 6 pm local time (12:30 GMT), according to a senior party leader.

On Tuesday, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured a victory in the general elections with 293 seats, despite not winning an outright majority as many exit polls had predicted. This led to a period of uncertainty regarding whether alliance partners would support Modi and the BJP or negotiate with the opposition to form a government.

However, on Friday, NDA leaders unanimously backed Modi as the coalition leader and prime ministerial candidate during a meeting in Delhi. Modi expressed gratitude to his allies, emphasizing the NDA’s commitment to govern effectively and advance the nation.

The BJP won 240 seats, falling short of the 272 needed for a majority in the 543-member parliament. Key allies, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)), contributed 16 and 12 seats respectively, ensuring the NDA’s majority.

Speculation had arisen that the opposition, which secured 234 seats, might seek support from the TDP and JD(U) to challenge the BJP. However, the NDA’s unanimous support for Modi has quelled these rumors.

In the coming days, the coalition is expected to announce ministerial positions and key portfolios. There is anticipation regarding potential concessions to regional parties, such as granting Andhra Pradesh special status, which TDP leader Chandrababu Naidu might request. Naidu had previously left the NDA in 2018 over this issue but rejoined before the recent elections.

On Wednesday, Modi formally submitted his resignation to President Droupadi Murmu, leading to the dissolution of parliament—a necessary step before the new prime minister and MPs are sworn in